Kit List – tcr#3

kit

My kit prep looks a bit more chaotic than some others – no nicely laid out kit for me – its all piled on the floor next to the bike.  Hopefully it wont still be there on Friday 😦

I’ve done a bit of packing, then a bit of riding with loaded bags, then I went shopping!  Again!

Out.  My summer weight sleeping bag.  It’s too big, and a little heavy.  £250 later I have a featherweight down sleeping bag, that packs down to the size of a large fist.

Out.  sleeping bag liner.  You can’t wear it on the bike, so out it goes

Out.  Soft-shell bib tights for cold rain

In knee warmers, and a pair of featherweight montane waterproof trousers.  25%off but still £70. Less weight, less space, more flexibility.  They are size ‘large’, and do feel a little large around the knee – too late now

In.   a spare pair of cycle shorts.  Rotate and wear the spare pair off the bike.  Just shows I still don’t know my best most comfy pair of shorts 😦

In. An old long-sleeved jersey, that I can ditch when it gets warm.
My rain /cold kit is a endura baa baa merino long sleeve thermal, my short sleeve Pirate  jersey, my long-sleeved bike jersey, then a showers-pass elite rain jacket.  Pair of old overshoes – again to be ditched once its super warm
The rain jacket is so lightweight – its waterproof but retains no heat at all as it’s so thin.
My longsleeve or thermal can be worn off the bike / while camping when it gets cold overnight

One spare pair of merino socks, (evening / camping)

Electrics. I bought a new rechargeable battery.  This smooths out the charging to the garmins from the dynamo hub and stops them going bonkers when the power cuts in and out.

I am taking my garmin 800, and my wife’s as a spare.  I’ll alternate them, ie use one and charge the other
I am using a sinewave revolution to convert my dynamo to usb power.
I have a set of usb, micro usb leads to charge garmins, phone and the exposure joystick

In.  I bought a small European 2 pin usb charger.

In Gloves.  My faithful Assos gloves finally have given up the ghost.  I filled out a Rapha questionnaire so got 20% off a set of leather gt gloves.  I know 2 people with them and they love them.  As for rain,  I have a pair of old pearl izumi autumn weight gloves and a pair of Rapha merino glove Liners…. And some disposable latex gloves. I will ditch the autumn gloves after the alps.

Feed bag.  Bought a alpkit feedbag.  Velcros onto the bar/stem,  and stores food etc.  My knees brush it when climbing out the saddle so it’s now up between the tri bars.

Apart from that…

Lights

Exposure revo dynamo powered light, with a redeye rear light
Exposure joystick and redeye mounted on my helmet    –   You can’t have too many rear lights

Other

Repair kit – 2 inner tubes, puncture repair kit, cable ties, Spare gear and brake cable, Spare rear gear Hanger
Spare disk brake pad
Allen key set
Chain oil – as small as I could find
Chain tool
Lezyne pump, – mini track pump with a gauge.  Means I can pump up the tyres to a pressure day after day.. – wrapped some electrical and gaffer tape around it
Fluoro reflective tabard/vest – its illegal to ride in France without wearing one

P20 sun tan lotion
lip balm – chapped lips hurt
tooth paste – travel version
Foldable tooth brush
Contact lenses * 30
Sun glasses / normal glasses
mini crap lock.  you can break it with a well placed screwdriver, but it should stop someone just walking off with it.
Light bag thing – folded up, but can be used on my back to hold some food for riding on into the evening
Passport
Credit card and money
titanium spork – eat yogurts or takeaway food
swiss army knife – 2.5 inch blade – cut cheese, spread mayo, make sandwiches and rolls
chamois creme – a large full pot.  May buy more along the way
vitamin spray – my diet will be rubbish
high 5 zero / salt tabs – I have suffered in very hot races – I’ll need more along the way
mosquito spray – for when I camp and am being eaten alive
foldable 1 liter bottle – in back pocket when full, wrapped on top of saddle bag when empty
4 AAA batteries – spares for the tracker

Sleeping
Nemo elite bivy bag – water proof, looks like a micro tent so I can use campsites
3/4 sleeping mat
Sleeping bag. (see above)
This means I can sleep somewhere if I can’t find a hotel.  Worth it for peace of mind

I think that’s it…  That’s me packing light….

Leave a comment